Follow us:

2023 Youth Media Award Winners

2023 Youth Media Award Winners

The 2023 Youth Media Award Winners have been announced!

Following is the list of winners announced at this morning’s 2023 Youth Media Awards ceremony during ALA’s Lib Learn X. Please check back at throughout the day for more coverage, including interviews with winning authors.

John Newbery Medal  Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson

Randolph Caldecott Medal  Hot Dog by Doug Salati

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award  I Did It! by Michael Emberley

Robert F. Sibert Medal Seen and Unseen by Elizabeth Partridge, illus. by Lauren Tamaki

Mildred L. Batchelder Award Just a Girl: A True Story of World War II by Lia Levi, illus. by Jess Mason

Pura Belpré Awards

Children’s Illustration: Where Wonder Grows, illus by Adriana M. Garcia, written by Xelena González

Children’s Author: Frizzy by Claribel A. Ortega, illus. by Rose Bousamra

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Author Award: Amina Luqman-Dawson, Freewater

Illustrator Award: Frank Morrison, Standing in the Need of Prayer written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Stonewall Book Award  Love, Violet by Charlotte Sullivan Wild, illus. by Charlene Chua

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Picture Book: From the Tops of the Trees by Kao Kalia Yang, illus. by Rachel Wada

Children’s Literature: Maizy Chen’s Last Chance by Lisa Yee

You can find these titles and many other awards winners in our collection!

800 447 Linnea Moosmann
Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

For performance and security reasons we use Cloudflare
Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.